Sunday, 25 June 2017

SnapChat Map



Anyone using Snapchat needs to be really careful with a new feature called Snap Maps. When you go through the new version you are given choices to allow you "find your friends" but what you're really doing is giving permission to let people see where you are every time you open the app.

This could be dangerous in so many ways!

If you use the app, and have activated this, the way to avoid giving away your location is to go into “Ghost Mode” by tapping the settings gear in the top right of the screen while viewing the Map, and choosing Ghost Mode from there.

There are many risks to using apps like Snapchat anyway - but this is particularly worrying - if you know anyone in your family uses the app it might be worth letting them know.